Krannert Center Offers FREE Haifa Symphony Orchestra of Israel Concert

Krannert Center has a special offer for all students!

On Sunday, February 23, at 3 p.m., Krannert Center presents a very special, invitation-only concert by the Haifa Symphony Orchestra of Israel in the Center’s world-renowned Foellinger Great Hall. As part of Krannert Center’s commitment to breaking down the barriers to explorations of classical music, this outstanding performance will be presented free of charge for students from middle school through graduate school and their accompanying teachers and parents. Read on to get tickets, and visit the Facebook page to say you’re attending and to share the invitation with other students. Thanks to funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Krannert Center has created this “Inside View” initiative.

This exclusive free event will serve as a celebratory encore to the orchestra’s performance for the general public on February 22. (Tickets for the February 22 public performance can be purchased now: $51 standard admission, $46 senior citizen, $15 student, $10 U of I students and youth, and $10-$15 choral balcony.)

Seating for this special free event will be assigned, and tickets are required. Call the Krannert Center Ticket Office at 217-333-6280 or visit the Ticket Office in person at 500 S. Goodwin Avenue, Urbana, between 10 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week. We are grateful for the many Krannert Center donors who help make Krannert Center a place like nowhere else. If you would like to deepen the impact of the arts in our community, you can invest now.

Formed in 1950, the Haifa Symphony Orchestra of Israel encompasses a rich mix of players who are immigrants and native Israelis, are seasoned and younger performers, and hold Jewish, Christian, Muslim, and other beliefs. Conductor Boguslaw Dawidow, internationally renowned for his musical knowledge, immense enthusiasm, and extraordinarily charismatic stage presence, presented Krannert Center audiences with a stirring performance from the Opole National Philharmonic of Poland in 2011. Now, Dawidow and the Haifa Symphony bring us Dvorák’s beloved “New World Symphony,” written when the Czech composer was working in New York in the 1890s. Pianist Roman Rabinovich, who made his debut with the Israel Philharmonic at the age of 10 and “whose mature, self-assured playing belies his chronological age,” takes his vivacity and virtuosity to Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1—the work Van Cliburn performed to win the First International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1958 at the height of the Cold War (San Francisco Classical Voice).

The program includes:
Weber—Overture to Euryanthe
Tchaikovsky—Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23
Dvorák—Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95, “From the New World”

You might enjoy learning more about these pieces before the performance. For just a few of the many resources available, see the following links:

LA Philharmonic on Overture to Euryanthe
San Francisco Symphony on Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1
Encyclopedia Britannica on “New World Symphony”
San Francisco Symphony on “New World Symphony”


You may no longer comment on this post. Comments close after 90 days.